Queries and Replies: Edith Wharton on Long Island

ame: Diane Lundegaard
Email: Mselle@verizon.net
Website: http://Lakeartstudiopaintings.com
May we publish your name and email address?: Yes
Comment: After reading the query regarding Greenwood Cemetery I thought I might ask if anyone knows if Mrs. Wharton visited the following places on Long Island since one of her relatives, John D. Jones donated their land and buildings in the late 1800’s: the Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery, (where I work as public relations director), the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, (originally known as the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences).  Since the Jones were members of St. John’s Episcopal Church, built circa 1835, (located behind the Hatchery) I wonder if she may have visited the Church. I read in Hermione Lee’s book, Edith Wharton, that Mrs. Wharton visited the Bayard Cutting family at their Long Island residence which is now open to the public. I therefore wonder if she may have visited these other places. I would like to organize an Edith Wharton Long Island tour, and any information would be most helpful. Thank you. Oct. 29, 2015

