From Laura Rattray: Custom of the Country Competition News

Competition News

Link: https://transatlanticladies.wordpress.com/blog/

Thank you to everyone who entered our writing competition, linked to our first book club choice, Edith Wharton’s The Custom of the Country (1913), narrating the exploits of a certain Undine Spragg.  We really enjoyed reading your entries, which – in true transatlantic literary women style—were received from both sides of the Atlantic.

We asked you to write a dating profile for Undine Spragg or create one of Mrs Heeny’s newspaper clippings, with a report on one of Undine’s parties.

There was no shortage of ideas, but we do have a winner. Congratulations to Deborah Molloy from Kent, UK, who gives us a contemporary twist on a dating profile as Undine opts for the direct, targeted approach. Forget about being the Ambassador’s Wife!

Here’s Deborah’s winning entry, printed with permission. Enjoy!

I Mean To Have The Best

 

Dear Mr President

 

I am taking the unusual step of placing this personal ad as I realise that a terrifically busy man like you might not have time for niceties. I am currently between husbands, and really feel we were made for each other.  I really, truly admire the way you always get what you want, power is the biggliest thrill, don’t you think?  My daddy was a Wall Street man and I feel we speak the same language – alternative facts are the way forward.  I have always felt I belonged on Fifth Avenue; why we’re practically neighbours!  So, if you decide you want a First Lady who’s the home-made article my mamma will be happy to receive you at the Stentorian Hotel, 1 W 72nd St. Perhaps we can talk about lifting restrictions on pigeon-blood rubies.

 

With warmest regards

Ms Undine Spragg-Marvell-de Chelles-Moffatt

 

 

 

More info on the series available here:

https://twitter.com/atlantlitwomen

 

and here: https://transatlanticladies.wordpress.com/

