2021 EWS Awards Announced

Dear Edith Wharton Society members, 

I’m delighted to announce this year’s winners of the Edith Wharton Society awards: 

The Elsa Nettels Prize for a Beginning Scholar 

Emma Aylor, Texas Tech University 

“’Nay, rather, Lord, between’: The Unification of Body and Spirit in Wharton’s Deathbed Monologues” 

The Award for Archival Research  

Lina Geriguis, Cabrillo College   

“Wharton, Equity, and Editorial Decisions: Authorial Agency in Shaping the Disability Discourse in the Rare Editions of Ethan Frome” 

The Undergraduate Research Prize 

Alp Eren Pirli, Boğaziçi University 

“Telegraphic Naturalism: Technological Determinism in The Reef” 

I’m pleased that we had robust submissions this year, and I wish to extend many thanks to the Awards committees for their careful and thoughtful work: for the Elsa Nettels Prize: Myrto Drizou, Donna Campbell, and Laura Rattray; for the Award for Archival Research: Melanie Dawson, Sheila Liming, and Meg Toth; and for the Undergraduate Research Prize: Jay Jessee and Virginia Ricard. 

Many congratulations to the winners! It’s a joy to see such strong scholarship on Edith Wharton and her work. 

All best, 


Dr. Jennifer Haytock
Professor, English Department

2 thoughts on “2021 EWS Awards Announced

  1. Pingback: Boğaziçi University | Congratulations to Alp Eren Pirli

Comments are closed.