EWS Award Recipients Announced

Dear Edith Wharton Society members, 

Here are the results of this year’s committee deliberations for the Edith Wharton Society’s awards: 

The Award for Archival Research  

Anna Girling, University of Edinburgh   

“Edith Wharton and the Cold War” 

The Elsa Nettels Prize for a Beginning Scholar 

No award given. 

The Undergraduate Research Prize 

No award given. 

I wish to extend many thanks to the Award committees for their careful and thoughtful work: for the Elsa Nettels Prize for a Beginning Scholar: Myrto Drizou, Melanie Dawson, and Laura Rattray; for the Award for Archival Research: Jay Jessee, Virginia Ricard, and Meg Toth; and for the Undergraduate Research Prize: Rita Bode and Donna Campbell. 

Although no award was given in two categories, I’m pleased that we saw such interest in Wharton studies, and the burgeoning work offers much promise.  

Many congratulations to Anna Girling on her award! 

All best,