2004-12-28 MLA

Minutes for Wharton Society business meeting, Dec. 28, 2004

Julie Olin-Ammentorp, President of the Edith Wharton Society, commenced the meeting about 11:15 a.m. (in the final portion of the time allotted for Session #146, Edith Wharton and the Arts, at the annual MLA convention). She thanked outgoing members of the Wharton Executive board Frederick Wegener and Laura Saltz, and announced newly elected members: Mary Papke ( Univ. of Tennessee), Carol Singley (Rutgers-Camden), and the re-elected Laura Saltz ( Colby College). She also announced that Edie Thornton has been elected as Secretary; on Jan. 1, 2005 Donna Campbell will become President, Hildegard Hoeller Vice-President, and Edie Thornton Secretary.

Julie reminded those present of the upcoming conference (June 23-25, 2005) celebrating the centenary of Wharton’s novel The House of Mirth. The deadline for submission of papers is Jan. 10; she also distributed fliers regarding the conference.

The final order of business was the selection of a topic from the floor for next year’s MLA. Three topics were proposed: “Wharton, Science, and Technology,” proposed by Laura Saltz; “Edith Wharton and the French,” proposed by Celeste Wiggins; and “Edith Wharton, Embassies, and Ambassadors,” proposed by Janet Roberts. Those present voted, and Laura Saltz’s topic emerged as the winner.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie Olin-Ammentorp, secretary pro tem

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s